Colorado Periodic Report: Everything You Need to Know
A Colorado periodic report is a report submitted to the Colorado Secretary of State Business Division in order to keep information about a business entity current.3 min read
2. Will I Get Notification That My Periodic Report Is Due?
Updated November 3, 2020:
A Colorado periodic report is a report submitted to the Colorado Secretary of State Business Division to keep information about a business entity current.
Every year, the following entities are legally required to submit a periodic report:
- Non-profit corporations
- Limited Liability Companies
- Foreign entities
Anyone with authority is allowed to file the report.
On the periodic report, a business entity can update information such as:
- Principal office address
- Registered agent's name and address
This ensures that the public has the correct and most current information. Businesses that submit their public report maintain their good standing with the state.
The filing fee is $10, and it's paid annually by the following:
- Profit corporations
- Non-profit corporations (domestic and foreign)
- Limited Liability Companies (LLC)
- Professional Limited Liability Companies (PLLC)
- Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP)
Accepted forms of payment include:
- American Express
- Debit cards
There are strict guidelines that businesses must follow when filing a periodic report. These are:
- You must use the required form/cover sheet when you submit your report.
- You must write your information in English.
- Carefully review your information before submitting it, as you may face legal consequences for incorrect information.
- The Secretary of State's office cannot provide legal advice, so address any questions to your own business, legal, or tax advisor(s).
- Provide no personal identifying information; only include the required information or that which is permitted in the report. For example, don't include your social security number.
- Any information on the form/cover sheet will be made a matter of public record. This includes information in an attachment. It will immediately be available on the Secretary of State website.
The Secretary of State may occasionally grant a lowered registration and renewal fee of $1 to charities for a limited time.
When Is the Colorado Periodic Report Due?
Find your reporting month on your entity's summary page. Look under “Periodic Report Month.” You can file your periodic report two months before your report month. If you don't file on time, you'll have two months after your regular report month in which to file.
To see your summary page:
- Go to the Colorado Secretary of State website.
- Click the Business tab at the top of the page.
- On the Business Organizations page, look under “Search & File” and select “Search Business Database.”
- Click the link and enter your business name, trademark, trade name, ID, or document number in the search box.
- Click “Search.” You'll see a list of entities with names similar to your own if you entered your business name.
- Click the correct entity's ID number.
Your report month is the same month in which you formed your LLC. You can find an approval date in your Articles of Organization if you're not sure which month your LLC was approved.
The late filing penalty is $40 if you don't file your periodic report by your due date.
Will I Get Notification That My Periodic Report Is Due?
The state sends notices to remind business owners about important dates related to filing. The state does this as a courtesy. You can sign up for email notifications at the Secretary of State website to receive an email reminder seven days before the beginning of your report month.
You're encouraged to sign up for email notifications to get notices about:
- Due dates for periodic reports
- Renewal dates for trademarks and trade names
- Other record changes
If you choose not to receive these reminder emails, you should carefully keep track of your filing due date.
The state will send subsequent notices if you don't file your periodic report on time. This is done until an entity becomes delinquent. On an entity's History and Documents page, you'll find due dates for the periodic report as well as any changes in an entity's status. Whether or not you receive reminders, you're still responsible for submitting a periodic report.
When a company is formed, the registered agent will receive annual report notifications.
By sticking to the guidelines for submitting a periodic report in Colorado and paying your required fees on time, you're able to maintain a good standing status for your business.
If you need help with a Colorado periodic report, you can post your legal need on UpCounsel's marketplace. UpCounsel accepts only the top 5 percent of lawyers to its site. Lawyers on UpCounsel come from law schools such as Harvard Law and Yale Law and average 14 years of legal experience, including work with or on behalf of companies like Google, Menlo Ventures, and Airbnb.