Certificate of Good Standing: Everything You Need to Know

A Certificate of Good Standing, also called a "Certificate of Existence" or " of Authorization," is a state-issued document showing that your LLC or company has met its statutory requirements and is allowed to do business in that state.

A Certificate of Good Standing confirms that your business has paid all state fees, filled the annual report requirement, and made payments for franchise taxes. Many corporations request a Certificate of Good Standing for their own records.

A Certificate of Good Standing can also be required by state governments, should you be making use of foreign qualifications, or lenders while you're attempting to acquire financing, make transactions, and obtain potential business companions or buyers in a foreign country.

You may need to keep your Certificate of Good Standing current to be able to renew particular licenses or permits, and a Certificate of Good Standing can be necessary proof when it comes time to promote your business. Also, if you're trying to register to do business in more states, these states might ask for a copy of your Certificate of Good Standing.

Certificates of Good Standing generally contain the name of the entity, a brief clause stating that entity is allowed to do business in the jurisdiction and is relying on the jurisdiction where it was obtained, and it may also be on particular ornamental paper or have an ornamental embossed seal of some form on it to prove its authenticity.

How to Get Certificates of Good Standing

A Certificate of Good Standing can be obtained for an LLC, company, LLP, LP, or some other sort of entity if you're in good standing with your own home state. Some states require a Certificate of Good Standing to be dated within 30 days of the date you are using it. Some states require 90 days, and there are a couple states that require only six months' previous good standing. Most states help you provide them with a duplicate of the certificate, which means you may order it from your own home state by fax, online, or email, and mail a copy of the certificate to the requesting party.

There are a couple of states that require the certificates to be proven authentic. Those states generally have access to a listing of other states that allow you to get the Certificate of Good Standing online if you are registering in a new state. If you plan on expanding your business into a new state, then you will want to have a Certificate of Good Standing available to show the new state authority.

How Much Does a Certificate of Good Standing Cost?

The following is a chart showing the cost and time frame for getting a Certificate of Good Standing in each state.

State

Cost

Time Frame

Alabama

$28.00

immediate online

Alaska

$10.00

immediate online

Arizona

$45.00

immediate online

Arkansas

$28.00

immediate online

California

$5.00

4 weeks

Colorado

free

immediate online

Connecticut

$50.00

immediate online

Delaware

$50.00

2-3 business weeks

DC

$16.50

10 business days

Florida

$8.75 corps

5-10 business days

 

$5.00 LLCs

 

Georgia

$10.00

immediate online

Hawaii

$7.50

immediate online

Idaho

$11.50

immediate online

Illinois

$47.00

immediate online

Indiana

$21.42

immediate online

Iowa

$5.00

immediate online

Kansas

$15.00

immediate online

Kentucky

$10.00

immediate online

Louisiana

$20.00

immediate online

Maine

$30.00

immediate online

Maryland

$40.00

immediate online

Massachusetts

$15.00

immediate online

Michigan

$12.50

1 day

Minnesota

$15.00

4 business days

Mississippi

$27.00

immediate online

Missouri

$10.00

immediate online

Montana

$5.00

immediate online

Nebraska

$10.00

3 business days

Nevada

$50.00

immediate online

New Hampshire

$5.00

5-7 business days

New Jersey

$25.00 Corp, nonprofit, and LP

immediate online

 

$50.00 short form, $100.00 long form LLC and LLP

 

New Mexico

$50.00 profit Corp

5-10 business days

 

$25.00 LLC

 
 

$10.00 non-profit Corp

 

New York

$25.00

2-3 business days

North Carolina

$12.00

immediate online

North Dakota

$10.00 + $5.00 search of records: Sole Proprietors and GP

1-2 business days

 

$15.00 + $5.00 search of records: LP, LLP, LLLP, PLLP, LLC, PLLC, Corp

 
 

in person counter service: while you wait

 

Ohio

$5.00

immediate online

Oklahoma

$20.00 online processing + 4% credit card processing fee

within 1 hour online

Oregon

$10.00

3-7 business days

 

in person counter service: while you wait

 

Pennsylvania

$40.00

immediate online

Rhode Island

$22.00 online

2 business days online

 

$20.00 regular processing

 
 

5-7 business days normal processing

 

South Carolina

$10.00

2-3 business days

 

Counter Service: while you wait (in person only)

 

South Dakota

$20.00 + $5.00 if emailed or faxed back

1-2 business days

Tennessee

$20.00 by mail

1-2 business days –

 

$22.25 online

Counter Service: while you wait

 

Order online and print from website

 (in person only)

Texas

$15.00

1-2 business hours online

Utah

$12.00

immediate online

Vermont

$25.00

3-5 business days

Virginia

$6.00

2-3 business days

Washington

$20.00

5-7 days

West Virginia

$10.00

24-48 business hours online

 

Counter Service: while you wait

 

Wisconsin

$10.00

immediate online

Wyoming

free online

immediate online

Canadian provinces

varies depending on province

varies depending on province

Puerto Rico

$15 for corporations; $25 for LLCs

immediate online

If you need help with obtaining a Certificate of Good Standing, you can post your legal need on UpCounsel’s marketplace. UpCounsel accepts only the top 5 percent of lawyers to its site. Lawyers on UpCounsel come from law schools such as Harvard Law and Yale Law and average 14 years of legal experience, including work with or on behalf of companies like Google, Stripe, and Twilio.